Brixton Library provides books and more for loan, a reference and information service, free use of Wi-Fi, computers for internet, email and word-processing.

Temporary Closure for refurbishment
Brixton Library will be closed from Wednesday 17 December and will reopen on Monday 22 December 2014. We apologise for any inconvenience. During this time you can use any of the other Lambeth Libraries

Brixton Oval
London
SW2 1JQ
Get directions

Opening times

Day Opening times
Monday 1pm to 8pm
Tuesday 10am to 8pm
Wednesday 10am to 6pm
Thursday 10am to 8pm
Friday 10am to 6pm
Saturday 9am to 5pm
Sundays noon to 5pm
Bank Holidays Closed

Christmas and New Year opening times

Day Opening times
Monday 22 December 2014 1 to 8pm
Tuesday 23 December 10am to 8pm
Wednesday 24 December 10am to 1pm
Thursday 25 December Closed/bank holiday
Friday 26 December Closed/bank holiday
Saturday 27 December 9am to 5pm
Sunday 28 December 12 to 5pm
Monday 29 December 1 to 8pm
Tuesday 30 December 10am to 8pm
Wednesday 31 December 10am to 5pm
Thursday 1 January 2015 Closed/bank holiday
Friday 2 January 10am to 6pm

Facilities and services

FacilityFacility notes
DVDs
Free use of computers

For internet, email and word-processing

Free Wi-Fi
Reference and information service
Reference Library

Encyclopedias, directories, maps, newspapers and magazines, government publications and books for study

Study desks
Talking books
Information leaflets
Foreign language books

Bengali, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Pashto, Russian, Somali and Spanish

Books for Sale

Lending books now on sale 50p or 3 for £1 and Reference books starting from £2

Access for people with disabilities

FacilityFacility notes
Large print keyboard
Magnifying glass
Screen magnifier and screen reader
Supernova, Thunder
Various formats
Large print, spoken word books, E-books, books on prescription
Disabled toilet
Wheelchair access
Ramp on the side entrance (on Rushcroft Road)
Lift

Recycling and re-use

ItemRecycleRe-useRepairBorrow / Hire
Batteries

More information

Follow us on Facebook: Brixton-Library and Twitter: @Brixtonlibrary